My AdvoCare 24 Challenge – What to Eat

You may have read my first post about the 24DC and wondered what happened to me…I dropped off the face of the earth after that post! Well lo and behold, I just found the post below in my ‘Drafts’ folder and realized I never published it…so here it is (with a couple updates!):

So you’ve received your box of AdvoCare products and you’re ready to go. Take it from me, the more planning you do prior to starting the challenge, the easier it will be for you. A big part of that is your meals, as that will be the biggest change you are likely making. I’ll give you links to some of my favorite ‘cleanse-approved’ recipes below, but first I want to talk briefly about what I think can be an even bigger part of the challenge: your attitude.

How you approach the next 24 days is going to really impact how you feel about what you are doing and the results you will get. If all you can think about is what you can’t eat (or drink!), you’re going to dread planning every meal and snack. Instead, try focusing on all of the things you can eat and you’ll be amazed how many new things you’ll find out you enjoy. Months after my first cleanse, I’ve maintained many of the healthy eating habits and the results are definitely showing up on the scale and in how I feel. So choose your attitude!

Make sure you check out the AdvoCare Daily Guide, which gives you not only a super easy-to-use daily checklist (also available as an app), but also great list of what you can eat and what you should avoid and/or limit. Without further ado, here’s some recommendations for your meals and snacks!

Breakfast
Eggs (any way you like them without cheese)EggWhite
Egg White Bites (these are a FAVE of mine!)
Oatmeal (loaded with fresh fruit and/or cinnamon)
Smoothies (lots of great recipes here!)
Protein Powder Pancakes

Snacks
Almonds
Fruit
Veggies
Rice Cakes
Popcorn (stay away from super buttery stuff!)

Lunch/Dinner
(Note: I made ‘bigger’ meals for lunch and typically brought leftovers for lunch the next day!)
Vegetable SoupOnePan
Asian Quinoa Meatballs
Chicken Quinoa Lettuce Wraps
Turkey Quinoa Meatballs
Crockpot Cilantro Lime Chicken
Kickin’ Chicken
Turkey Burgers
One Pan Mexican Quinoa (I’m obsessed with this)
Turkey Meatloaf
(Lots of stuff can be found on my Pinterest board, too!)

You’ll find lots of additional recipes online, so if none of these interest you, go find some that do! My best advice is to look for ‘clean eating’ recipes. You can eat complex carbs (whole wheat pasta, brown rice, quinoa, whole wheat bread) in moderation, but it should never be the focal point of your meal. Load up on those veggies, friends!

Here are a couple additional tips regarding the 24DC:
Water, water, water. You’ll see you’re supposed to divide your body weight in half and drink that many ounces of water per day. This can seem super overwhelming, but I got myself a 32 oz. Nalgene and now I routinely fill it up throughout the day. Sparkling (sugar-free) water and your Spark counts!
Spark. I love this stuff. AdvoCare recommends you mix one scoop (or package) of Spark with 8 oz. of water, but I’ve found it’s too strong for me that way. I put a scoop in a 28 oz. Blender Bottle with cold water and some ice and it’s perfect for me.
– Fiber Drink. I hate this stuff. Everyone who does the cleanse does. But it’s a necessary evil. I can’t drink it as recommended on the package (with 8 oz. of water). Instead, I mix it with 2-3 oz. of super cold water and take it like a shot and chase it with 8 oz. of water. It’s more bearable for me that way!
Meal Planning: People succeed or fail on this challenge based on how well they plan their meals and snacks. If you don’t plan, you’re going to end up in the McDonald’s drive-thru trying to figure out what you can eat. (Tip: pretty much nothing.)

If you’re interested in doing the 24DC, feel free to check out my AdvoCare site and let me know if you have any questions!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

