Just Call Me Super Aunt!

Did you know July 24th is “Auntie Day?” It’s true! And as a self-declared “Super Aunt,” I decided to was time to share a little about why I absolutely love being an aunt. I take my role as an Aunt very seriously and I have long before Elizabeth Gilbert wrote about the “Auntie Brigade” in her book Committed. As a happy, single 28-year old woman, many people scoff when I say I’m not sure I want to have children. Common responses include:

“Just wait…that’ll change.”

“It’s so much different when they’re your own.”

“But you’d be such a great Mom.”

All I know is that this point in my life, being an Aunt is one of the coolest things I’ve ever done (and some could argue I really didn’t even “do” anything to become an Aunt!). I’ve never dreamed about being a mother or having children, and I don’t think that makes me a horrible person. I have three nephews and one niece who amaze me every time I see them. I celebrate big occasions like birthdays with them and I am overcome with fits of laughter watching their small personalities emerge. I feel blessed to be a part of their lives and I look forward to continuing to help in shaping them be fantastic brothers, sisters, friends, and maybe someday…parents. But for now, that’s not in my cards. And this Super Aunt is perfectly okay with that.

Much love,

Auntie Jill

My oldest sister Trish has three lovely children:

Donovan (8), Kalen (6) and Adaja (4)

 And my sister Amy has brought this adorable little guy into my life:

Brody (2)

Happy Auntie’s Day to all of the other Super Aunts out there! 

This entry was posted in Living Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Call Me Super Aunt!

  1. I love your post, Auntie!! Happy Auntie’s DayTM to you!
    XOXO,
    Melanie Notkin, Founder and Author: Savvy Auntie

Leave a Reply

