#NOH8MN – My Turn

On May 21st, the Minnesota Legislature approved a measure that will put a constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage on the ballot in 2012.  That night I joined the #NOH8MN twitter campaign with thousands of Minnesotans–straight and gay–who are gravely concerned with this decision. I’ve heard arguments on both sides of this issue and for me it simply comes down to this:

LOVE

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, love is “a strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties.” To love and be loved is one of the most natural things in the world. I don’t want to be told who I can love, and I can almost guarantee you the 70 legislators–both Republicans and Democrats–who voted for this amendment would say the same thing. I understand this isn’t a “same-sex love” ban, but denying someone the right to marry who they love sounds just as ridiculous to me. Someone recently asked me why this “whole gay thing” was my problem.

But that’s exactly the point.

It is my problem because while I could marry any man of my choosing, one of my closest male friends from college can’t. It is my problem because I have three amazing nephews and a beautiful niece that deserve to grow up in a world that embraces love, not hate. It is my problem because I give a damn.

If you want to get involved, I encourage you to check out the following resources:

“Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it. Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it. Hatred darkens life; love illumines it.”

– Martin Luther King, Jr.

This entry was posted in #NOH8MN, Living Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #NOH8MN – My Turn

  1. Randi Reitan says:

    Hi Jillian ….thank you from the Reitans!!! Beautiful statement and means the world coming from a Mankato friend. We are living in Eden Prairie now and will be doing all we can to fight this shameful marriage amendment.

Leave a Reply

