Meet Little Marlys

My first official blog post–welcome!  I hope this will be a place to share my thoughts, inspire others, start discussions and have some fun along the way.  I hope you’ll stick around and let me know what you think–I love feedback!

So let me explain the title of this post–growing up, my family always called me “Little Marlys.”  Marlys is the name of my father’s mother–my Grandmother–and without question one of the most remarkable women I have ever known.  In addition to being incredibly gracious, humble and caring, my Grandma liked to talk…a lot.  And well, so do I.  So the nickname started young and has stuck with me through the years.

My Grandma Marlys passed away in March of 2006 and I’ve spent a lot of time over the past five years thinking about her life and the impact she had on those around her.  While I am honored to carry on Grandma Marlys’ legacy in any way I can, I am working on developing some of the other traits she was so well known for: hospitality, forgiveness, generosity and equality.

Grandma Marlys and Grandpa Ken with my sisters and I (I'm the baby in Grandpa's arms!)

I’ve never been much of a “resolution” person, but this year I decided to think of a short phrase that would guide me throughout the year.  After much deliberation, here’s what I came up with:

Spend less, give more.

While seemingly simple, I’m excited to see the many ways it plays out in my life.  The first step I’ve taken is celebrating Pay Day Fridays (every other Friday in my world) by donating to a different non-profit or charity every Pay Day.  I’m not setting a specific amount, because some weeks I may only be able to give $10, but I know I am much more fortunate than so many other people and want to be able to give back.

My first donation of the year went to Admission Possible, an organization that I believe in so strongly.  Admission Possible (AP)  works with low-income high school students to assist them in gaining access to higher education.  I have worked with countless AP students, coaches, staff and members of the Leadership Team over my six years in higher education and cannot say enough positive things about them.  Check ’em out–and if you’re fortunate enough to have some extra cash in your pocket at the end of the month, consider giving to Admission Possible.

Today I find myself on another Pay Day Friday and my question to you is…who should I donate to this week?

Missing you Grandma–

Little Marlys

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet Little Marlys

  1. Leah Michele says:

    YAY! Love Admission Possible!

  2. Mom says:

    I’m sure Grandma Hiscock has a little wider grin on her face today as she hears your words and watches you with pride… just like I do. Love you.

Leave a Reply

